This Girl is on FIRE!

I had to do it eventually. Love that song….

Anyway, I kinda was on fire last night! Check out my 2015 Halloween costume, handmade by me (with a little help from my friend Hilaree- she’s the tits!).

Dark Phoenix, from the X-Men!

Laura as Phoenix

Yeah, we made that, NBD.

For those of you who are not so familiar with the X-Men comic series, here’ s look at my inspiration.
dark phoenix

Hilaree cut and sewed the Phoenix logo on my chest, and also made the “boots” for my legs. I made the gloves, sash, and shoe covers. The unitard is actually two pieces: leggings from American Apparel (my go-to shop for all my basic costume needs) and a long-sleeve leotard from Danny’s Warehouse (discount dance store in LA; it’s fabulous!). The yellow material was from Joann’s and is a super stretchy lycra blend. This was my first time sewing with this type of material, and it was actually fairly simple.

Hilaree's fantastic seam-stressing!

Hilaree’s fantastic seam-stressing!

It was also my first time making gloves, and that was SURPRISINGLY easy to do! I found this fantastic tutorial that changed my life and I am forever grateful to have learned this technique.

A quick shot of me making the gloves, using freezer paper to make the fabric more "sturdy". Genius.

A quick shot of me making the gloves, using freezer paper to make the fabric more “sturdy”. Genius.

The X-Men! (from left to right) Laura as Phoenix, Jacob as Wolverine, and Hilaree as Rogue.

The X-Men! (from left to right) Laura as Phoenix, Jacob as Wolverine, and Hilaree as Rogue. Complete with Super-Vision eyes šŸ˜‰

IMG_9043

In case you were wondering, Phoenix has telekinetic powers. That’s why all my shots from last night are of that pose.

And we even ran into a few fellow X-Men!

Wolverine, Phoenix, Storm, Mystique, Wolverine, and Rogue. And Justine- as kitty lady (not an X-Men character, but still cool).

Wolverine, Phoenix, Storm, Mystique, Wolverine, and Rogue. And Justine- as kitty lady (not an X-Men character, but still cool).

Leave a comment